keywoodblog

Live for a God-glorifying Tombstone

with one comment

Here are the lyrics to one of my favorite hymns, “How Sad Our State By Nature Is!” by Isaac Watts.  William Carey, Baptist missionary to India in the late 1700s to mid-1800s, has a line from the last stanza on his tombstone:

How sad our state by nature is!
Our sin, how deep it stains!
And Satan binds our captive souls
Fast in his slavish chains.

But hark! a voice of sovereign grace
Sounds from the sacred Word;
“Ho, ye despairing sinners, come,
And trust upon the Lord!”

My soul obeys the Almighty’s call,
And runs to this relief;
I would believe Thy promise, Lord;
O help my unbelief!

To the blest fountain of Thy blood,
Incarnate God, I fly;
Here let me wash my spotted soul
From sins of deepest dye.

Stretch out Thine arm, victorious King,
My reigning sins subdue,
Drive the old Dragon from his seat,
With all his hellish crew.

A guilty, weak, and helpless worm,
Into Thy hands I fall;
Be Thou my strength and righteousness,
My Savior, and my all.

Here is an evaluation question for ourselves:  “What do I want people to put on my tombstone?”  Or, more specifically, “If I NEVER told anyone, would they still know what I would want on my tombstone?”  What would someone put on your tombstone?  A golf club?  A video game controller?  A makeup mirror?  A shoe store?  A computer?  Your family?  Your job?  What is most valuable to you?  Carey’s friends knew that he considered himself to be a helpless, sinful worm falling into the arms of God’s sovereign grace. Live for a God-glorifying tombstone.

If you would like to download this song, Indelible Grace did an excellent job at modernizing it for in-the-car-going-to-work listening.

Written by keywoodblog

March 25, 2011 at 2:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for sharing this, Jay. The message of this song would be good to read any day but with Easter this weekend I feel it is even more appropriate.

    Denise

    April 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm


Leave a Reply

