keywoodblog

Three Forms of Greed

with one comment

In his book Seeing With New Eyes:  Counseling and the Human Condition Through the Lens of Scripture, David Powlison, reflecting on Luke 12:22-34, presents three forms of greed that are catalysts for worry and anxiety:

‘I want my share of what’s fair’ was one for of greed.  Covetous greed will make you angry and manipulative.  You’ll even break in to interrupt Jesus when he’s talking!

‘I am set.  I can kick back.  I’ve got plenty!’  That was a different form of greed.  Complacent, satisfied greed makes you care less about what really matters, because it lulls you to sleep.

In this passage, where Jesus is talking to his disciples about not being anxious, he goes after a third form of greed.  ‘What if I don’t have enough?  What if what I need isn’t there?’  That’s anxious greed.  I want something I might not get, so I worry.

I’m a little over halfway through the book and it has been really helpful so far.  You can find it here on Amazon.

Written by keywoodblog

June 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting—I haven’t heard it put in terms of greed before.

    Judy Disch

    June 25, 2011 at 4:10 pm


Leave a Reply

