keywoodblog

What Jesus Did Between His Death and Resurrection, Or Something Like That

leave a comment »

Apparently as I woke up this morning I said ( or “shouted” according to Sarah who was still trying to sleep), “I think I figured it out!  I know what Jesus did between His death and resurrection!” I don’t mean that I know exactly what He did, or every detail, but I think I have somewhat of a idea that I don’t think is too theologically nit picky. I’ll try to explain my thought process.

Between His death and resurrection, Jesus did exactly what every dead Christian is doing right now. 

Here’s why I think this:

Romans 1:1-4

“concerning his Son, who was descended from David according to the flesh and was declared to be the Son of God in power according to the Spirit of holiness by his resurrection from the dead, Jesus Christ our Lord,” 

Jesus’ resurrection is the clearest declaration that He is the Son of God.

What links our experience with Christ’s experience:  Romans 6:5: “For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his.”

When we are in Jesus, our experience becomes organically linked with His experience. The spiritual reality that we have died with Him, were buried with Him, and were raised to new life with him is a foretaste to a coming physical experience.

And, Romans 8:11:  “If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.” 

The verse that really made me think about Jesus’ personal experience between His death and resurrection is this, Romans 8:19:  “For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God.”  

This is that hermeneutological (totally made up that word) jump that I’m thinking here:  Just as creation (including us) is waiting with eager longing for the full revealing of the adopted sons (everyone brought into God’s family), Jesus was longing eagerly to be revealed as the Son of God by His resurrection. He knew that “it is finished.” He was looking towards the awards ceremony, when he was given the title of “Lord” and a multitude of nations.

I think His body bloated a little bit (there is a reason why they put spices on Him); He may have stunk a little bit, and I don’t think He was in Hell, and I don’t think He was in an unconscious state, and I don’t think He was exactly “resting in peace.” He was longing for resurrection, and His Spirit still prays for resurrection for us (Rom 8:26) when we don’t know what to say. The reason the Spirit knows what to pray for us as we long for resurrection is because Jesus groaned in the same way before His resurrection.

Written by keywoodblog

April 5, 2015 at 3:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

