keywoodblog

Model Questions, Part 4: “You’re Asking Me For a Drink?”

with one comment

One of my first “duties” as a ministry intern was to go get everyone in the office lunch from Jimmy John’s. Now that I look back on it, I think it may have been because they really didn’t know what to do with me.  Either way, I was excited to be an intern, and to be needed for something, for anything.  These guys asking me to pick up lunch were experienced ministers.  They were “in the know.” They were my ticket to climbing the proverbial ladder.  So, sure, I was happy to be helping them, and it felt good to be of some assistance by my supervisors.

The woman of Samaria was astonished that Jesus would ask her for something. It’s interesting, because even a slave doesn’t question their master’s demand for a drink. But this confusion isn’t one of oppressor and oppressed.  It’s one of pure and impure. I immediately think of a white man going to stand in line at a “COLORED ONLY” water fountain in Jim Crow Alabama because he’s thirsty.

As readers with a birds-eye view of Jesus’ identity and the scope of his mission, we also experience Jesus in the same way. My Lord, and my God, you are putting liquid from this ground, filtered through this sand and clay, into your mouth, to quench your thirst?

I saw a video clip the other day of a mother in Flint, Michigan, bathing her child and discussing the fear of not yet knowing if her child would have lead poisoning. What she thought was helping her baby could have been killing him all along.  Jesus drinks our Flint water that has run through the plumbing of our broken systems. He replaces this water with living water, the kind with no unknown chemicals, truly life-giving water here and now and in the world to come.

Written by keywoodblog

March 28, 2016 at 2:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good read. Good thoughts. Good insight.

    Judy Disch

    March 29, 2016 at 4:28 pm


Leave a Reply

